top of page

With Strings in the Background Still Shivering

by Nancy Christopherson


BLACK LIVES MATTER

--dedicated to George Floyd (Oct. 14, 1973-May 25, 2020)

The year tips on its ear.

Joy’s last curve along the lines of Yes

and I Can’t Breathe.

I Can’t Breathe will

echo for decades maybe centuries long after

a gentle brother’s passing.

An innocent man bound hand-to-hand on the street

cuffed, choked and murdered (intentionally!)

by yet another white police officer

abetted by three more cops, one of them Hmong

one of them Black (what!).

When will this end.

I say I Resist. I Resist. I Resist. I Resist this Vision

this State of Being

in this Sad State of a so-called Free Nation

that we may stay alive one more day.

My Secret Black Body inside your Sacred Black Bodies.

I want you alive my friends.

I want us to live.

Listen to the birds sing Joy at us. Joy! Spring!

Live.

I can’t say there’s a goddamned God anymore.

How could it just stand there

and watch

as an INNOCENT! man pleads for his life and dies.

How could

there be such a False Hope.

Answer me, cop.

BLACK. LIVES. MATTER.

--May 25, 2020, Minneapolis, MN


About the Author

Nancy Christopherson's poems have appeared in Helen Literary Magazine, Peregrine Journal, Raven Chronicles, Third Wednesday, Verseweavers and Xanadu, among others, as well as various regional anthologies,. New work is forthcoming in the UK and Canada. Author of "The Leaf," she lives and writes in eastern Oregon. Visit www.nancychristophersonpoetry.com.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page