top of page

What Mami Has Taught Me

by Vanessa Chica Ferreira


Mami you taught me,

Garlic/lime/and salt on tostones will cure a cough, an upset stomach, and a hangover.

When there is hunger, open the fridge, and make something out of nothing.

Hips are not only used to swing from left to right but also in a circular motion.

Songs are to be sung loudly and if I forget the words, hum.

You taught me a short haircut can be sexy and I know exactly which one I am going to get when I turn 60, Shaved on one side, longer on the other.

Homage to your recklessness.

Mami, I want to be the type of viejita you didn’t get a chance to be. All “hay party and where are we going next?

You taught me that with a smile and pure sweetness on my tongue I will be favored.

That It is ok to have a soft heart and cry often, your teachings made me a poet.

You taught me I get to choose the God I want to follow and I can change my mind and follow another or none.

You've shown me my dreams are a portal just for us,

I wait for your visit.


About the Author

Vanessa Chica Ferreira is a Dominican NYC educator, writer, poet, playwright and fat activist. She has featured at various events throughout New York City. She co-wrote and performed in a 3 woman play titled “Live Big Girl” debuted (December 2017) at The National Black Theatre. Her work can be found in “The Girl With The Smile” poetry chapbook , "The BX Files" Contemporary Poetry from the Bronx" Anthology by Elkat Productions,“Live Big Girl” Poetry Anthology, “The Abuela Stories Project” by RoblesWrites Productions, The Acentos Review and Great Weather For Media anthology. She believes there is strength in vulnerability and is getting stronger everyday. For more information please visit VanessaChica.com



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page