top of page

Tough Love

by Julio Jacinto


as a child i was afraid of a lot of things, like


monsters under my bed (i could not sleep without the lights on)

passing by the altar at night (i was petrified by the miniature statues)

turning the lights off in the sala (i'd always run after flicking the switch)

getting soap in my eyes, talking baby dolls, the sound of thunder,

razorblades, knives, needles, horror movies, and


making you angry,

when


i wore those pink socks to school, when i talked back in self-defense,

when i stayed up too late, when my eyes were too close to the screen,

when i spoke in vernacular, when i wrote with my left hand,

when i didn't lock the gate, when i did, when i didn't.


i hated how long my name was when i made you angry, each

letter, my arms stretched towards you, an offering

with eyes shut so tight the tears squeezed out, salty on


my lips as i spelled my name, my full name goddammit, each

letter, out loud, the sound of a belt buckle on flesh, sometimes

a broomstick, sometimes a hanger, sometimes your fists


i grew up with tattooed sleeves, red, sometimes purple, each

letter on my skin––i lost count, so you told me to start again, you

stupid brat, and i did, because this was punishment, this was discipline


this was


love.


About the Author

Julio Jacinto likes to read poems, fiction, and essays by Filipino writers as he aspires to someday be successful like them. His works have previously been published in Philippines Graphic, Banaag Diwa, and Dagmay Literary Journal.



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page