top of page

Brown, Black, White, and Me

by Karina Guardiola-Lopez


I,

Not brown enough in appearance

Not black enough to relate

Not white enough because, look at my ancestor’s gifts

I,

A Mezo-American, of Mayan Indian, African and Spanish descent

A blend of nations that rival with one another

With all this hate in me, how do I love so hard?

I,

A multifaceted identity

Too obscure on the eyes

Too complex for identifiers and check boxes

I, without typology, they call me hybrid

I am mixed, I stay in the median

But without denying this genealogy

And the stories of pride, pain, and power


About the Author

Karina Guardiola- Lopez, is a writer, poet, actor and educator from New York City. She has been published in various magazines, anthologies and websites including: Writing For Peace, Great Weather for Media, The Scrib Arts Journal, Indolent Books, Poetica Magazine, Acentos Review, New Voices Anthology, The BX Files, Latinoauthor.com just to name a few.

She has also featured at various venues including: The NYC Poetry Festival at Governor's Island, National Black Theatre, Bowery Poetry Club, Nuyorican Poets Cafe, Q-Boro Lit Crawl, The Bronx Museum and many other locations. She has facilitated many writing workshops for the youth and now for adults. For more information, visit www.kglopez.com.



227 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page